AATCC presents Future Leaders Award to six young professionals

AATCC-Logo_web copy.jpg

Posted May 7, 2020


RESEARCH TRIANGLE PARK, N.C. – The AATCC Future Leaders Award was presented to Ashley Handley, Heather Johnson, Katelyn Lee, Bryan Ormond, Tyler Pickett and Morgan Schanski at the recent International Conference held in Greenville, S.C.


The Future Leaders Award recognizes promising young professionals in the fields of textiles, apparel and related material sciences. These young professionals are the future of our industry and the future leaders of AATCC. Award recipients are determined by each AATCC Interest Group.


Handley has been a member of AATCC since 2017. She is project specialist, UL Retail and Industry in Arkansas. Prior to this, she served as production supervisor with Consumer Testing Laboratories where she was promoted to a textile engineer role under the Regulatory Compliance and Technical Support team. Handley attended the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville, Ark. She has served as the AATCC Ozark Section Treasurer since 2019.


Johnson has been a member of AATCC since 2016 and has been involved in the AATCC Student Chapter at North Carolina State University since 2014. Johnson currently is a colorist with American & Efird, an Elevate Textiles company, in Mount Holly, N.C. She earned a Bachelor of Science in Polymer and Color Chemistry in 2016 from N.C. State’s Wilson College of Textiles. She currently serves on the Executive Committee on Research as well.


Lee has been a member of AATCC since 2008. She is textile chemist at Cotton Incorporated in Cary, N.C. She previously served as research assistant and later specialty applications chemist at Cotton Incorporated. She graduated from North Carolina State University with a B.S. in Polymer and Color Chemistry. Lee has held the role of Committee Chair for AATCC RA80 as of 2016.


Ormond has been a member of AATCC since 2006. He is assistant professor at the Wilson College of Textiles at N.C. State, where he earned a Ph.D. in Fiber and Polymer Science, and a B.S. in Polymer and Color Chemistry (ACS certified). Ormond has been a voting member of CS75, Young Professionals Committee and RA31 Antimicrobial Activity Test Methods, since 2019. He also has served as AATCC faculty advisor for the NCSU Student Chapter since 2018. Currently he serves as an Associate Editor for the AATCC Journal of Research.


Pickett has been a member of AATCC since 2010. He is senior laboratory specialist at adidas in Portland, Ore. Pickett holds a Master of Science in Textile Chemistry and a B.S. in Polymer & Color Chemistry from N.C. State. He was a graduate research assistant within the Textile Protection & Comfort Center at NCSU prior to joining adidas. Pickett has served as Committee Chair of RA75 since 2018.


Schanski has been a member of AATCC since 2015. She is project manager, consumer innovation at adidas in Portland, Ore. Previously, Schanski was material engineer at adidas. She holds a Master of Science inApparel Product Development & Merchandising Technology and a B.A. in Apparel Merchandising, both from Central Michigan University. She was recently nominated for the adidas Creator’s Choice Award in Leadership & Collaboration.


The Future Leaders Award


Nominees for the AATCC Future Leaders Award must be AATCC members who are 39 years old or younger and actively engaged in the greater textile or related industries. They must display leadership skills and have a history of service to AATCC or the greater textile and related industries.


A key quality of successful candidates is a desire to become more involved with the objectives of AATCC: to increase expertise, encourage research and establish channels for the interchange of professional knowledge. Nominees must agree to join the AATCC Young Professionals Committee and must participate, as their professional commitments allow, in the work of the committee. The award includes a framed certificate signed by the AATCC president and the Interest Group (IG) chairs and a special pin.


Source: AATCC

ATMA_Techtextil 2020 ad_website_011520-o

AATCC President Kerry King of Spoonflower with AATCC Future Leader Award recipients at AATCC's International Conference in Greenville, S.C., in March. (L-R) King, Bryan Ormond, Tyler Pickett, Ashley Handley, Heather Johnson and Katelyn Lee. Missing: Morgan Schanski. Photo by Devin Steele

  • LinkedIn
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Instagram
  • Wix Twitter page