EDANA elects five governors, team of officers for ’21-’22

Posted July 8, 2021

BRUSSELS – EDANA, a leading global association serving the nonwovens and related industries, has elected five new governors and confirmed the team of officers for 2021-2022.


Mikael Staal Axelsen (Fibertex) remains as chair, supported by continuing vice chairs Åsa Johansson (Essity, Sweden) and David Lamb (Nonwovenn, U.K.) and treasurer Giorgio Mantovani (Corman, Italy). Announced at EDANA’s recent online Annual Strategic Review and AGM, the newly elected board began their term on July 1.


“EDANA now has over 320 members and a broader reach and wider scope than ever. It is encouraging therefore to welcome such a range of expertise on to our board,” said Axelsen. “The ongoing member confidence in our assembly to drive our determined and broad agenda is very rewarding. EDANA’s ongoing successful fostering of an environment beneficial to innovation, and to sustainable and profitable growth, is a great testament to the professionalism of the team and our members.”


The following governors were elected as new board members:


  • Cédric Ballay, CEO, PFNonwovens, Spain

  • Jürgen Eizinger, vice president of Global Business Management Nonwovens Division, Lenzing, Austria

  • Omar Hoek, executive vice president of Engineered Papers, SWM, Luxembourg

  • Achim Schalk, executive vice president & general manager, HHS EMEIA, Berry Global, Germany

  • Michael Trinkaus, director, R&D and Application Engineering, Mondi, Germany


The team of officers is reinforced by executive governors, co-opted by the board: Thorsten Habeck (business director – Fiber Bonding Europe, Middle East & Africa, BASF, Germany), Ulrich Hornfeck (board member & chief commercial officer, Sandler, Germany), Krzysztof D. Malowaniec (senior vice president, Paul Hartmann, Germany), Jörg Ortmeier (CEO, TWE Group, Germany) and Mark A. Thornton (vice president, Global Materials and Packaging, Procter & Gamble, United States).


At the AGM, special thanks were extended to Frantisek Klaska (PFNonwovens), who is leaving the EDANA Board of Governors after 20 years. 


A complete list of the EDANA Board of Governors is available on the website.


Source: EDANA

  • LinkedIn
  • Wix Facebook page
  • Instagram
  • Wix Twitter page
ATMA_Techtextil 2021 ad_website_011121-O
AB Carter-website ad_051021_DRAFT1.gif
PAF Sales-BTSR eTC Website ad_093020-Opt