CHARLESTON, S.C. – The South Carolina Manufacturers Alliance (SCMA) has elected Chuck Hall, president and CEO of Barnet, as the next chair of the organization’s Board of Directors.

SCMA logo new color_compressed.jpg

The election took place at SCMA’s two-day annual meeting here.

“I am excited and truly honored to be elected by my colleagues to serve as chair of the SCMA,” said Hall. “Manufacturing is an industry that creates so many wonderful opportunities for our citizens and for our communities. I am extremely proud to be a manufacturer in the great state of South Carolina. For more than a century, the SCMA has worked tirelessly as the voice of South Carolina manufacturing, and I look forward to continuing that mission.”

Hall is a graduate of the Georgia Institute of Technology, where he earned a Bachelor of Science and a Master of Science Degree in Chemical Engineering in 1985 and 1987. He began his career with the Hoechst Celanese Corporation, where he held various manufacturing, project management, and corporate leadership roles.

Since joining Barnet in 1998, Hall has continued to serve in a myriad of roles that range from international business development and management to manufacturing operations. He became the president of Barnet in 2017. Hall also serves on the Pelham Medical Center Advisory Board, the School of Chemical Engineering External Advisory Board at Michigan Technological University and the Board of Directors for the National Council of Textile Organizations (NCTO).

Barnet is a global manufacturing, recycling and trading company specializing in a wide range of fibers, polymers and yarns. Headquartered in Spartanburg, S.C., the company employs more than 500 people with operations in the United States, Germany, India and China. Since its founding in 1898, Barnet has focused on providing solutions to its customers and suppliers.

SCMA Board Members that were elected include:

Executive Committee

• Chair – Chuck Hall, Barnet

• Immediate Past Chair – April Allen, Continental

• First Vice Chair – Tommy Preston, The Boeing Company

• Second Vice Chair – Kevin Brown, Milliken & Company

• Treasurer – Curtis Hutto, Thompson Construction Group, Inc.

• Textile Council Chair – Ellis Fisher, Inman Mills

Council chairs

• Automotive Council Chair – Paige Reed, Sage Automotive Interiors, Inc.

• Lowcountry Manufacturers Council Chair – Vince Lombardy, VTL Precision

• Tire Council Chair – Jay Spears, Continental

Terms Expiring 2023

• Randy Blackston, Glen Raven, Inc.

• Grant Burns, AFL

• Max Metcalf, BMW Manufacturing Co., LLC

• Chris Gullott, Bridgestone Americas, Inc.

• Hannah Smith, The Timken Company

• Dan Royston, A.O. Smith Water Products

• Steve Slesinski, Nucor Steel Berkeley

Terms Expiring 2024

• Mike Callahan, Duke Energy South Carolina

• Robert Wick, Schaeffler Group USA Inc.

• Laura Steiner, Horizon Scientific, Inc.

• John McAlister, Electrolux Home Products, Inc.

• Roger Buckley, Sonoco

• Hunter Mottel, Sleep Number

Terms Expiring 2025

Dex Battista, Magna International

• Matthew Bowers, Sage Automotive Interiors, Inc.

• Andrew Dill, Lockheed Martin

• Ron Freed, American Honda Motor Co., Inc. South Carolina Manufacturing

• Matt Hamrick, Mercedes-Benz Vans, LLC

• Kellar Kissam, Dominion Energy South Carolina

• Emily Ham, WestRock

Source: SCMA

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.